What Is The Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage In Missouri?

It’s illegal to drive uninsured in Missouri. As a driver, it’s your responsibility to get coverage that provides financial protection for you, other drivers, and any passengers involved. Your car insurance must account for liability coverage in instances where you’re the at-fault driver, and you have to have insurance that protects you against those driving uninsured.

What Are The Penalties Of Driving Without Insurance?

Driving without car insurance can lead to your license being suspended for up to one year. This offense results in a ticket at the very least. You can also get four points on your driving record (license gets suspended if you receive eight points in an 18-month period). There may also be an order of supervision, where the Driver License Bureau will monitor your insurance status, ensuring that you’re driving with the minimum insurance coverage requirements.

What Is The Meaning Behind 25/50/25?

25/50/25 is a figure that commonly appears when discussing Missouri’s minimum insurance requirements. It refers to minimum requirements for bodily injury coverage ($25,000), bodily injury per accident coverage ($50,000), and property damage coverage ($25,000).

Bodily injury coverage is for the other drivers in accidents for which you are at fault. It covers their medical expenses, plus legal fees if they decide to file a lawsuit.

As for the bodily injury per accident, $50,000 is required to account for accidents where two or more people are injured. It covers the same fees as the coverage previously mentioned.

With property damage coverage at a minimum $25,000, your insurer will help cover repair costs for damage done to other vehicles, as well as personal property in them, when you’re in an accident where you’re at fault.

What Is Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury (UMBI) Coverage?

For UMBI coverage, you need at least $25,000 in bodily injury coverage, and a total of $50,000 in coverage per accident. This is for when you’re injured by an uninsured driver in an accident where they’re at fault. 

Is Minimum Coverage Enough?

Having this coverage is necessary for legal reasons, but having nothing beyond the bare minimum is not practical. It’s encouraged that you get more comprehensive coverage. Other coverage options include reimbursement for non-accident-related vehicle damage, rental car insurance, and roadside assistance services.

You may also want to get higher coverage amounts, because once the insurance pays its share, the rest is left up to you. For instance, if you just had the minimum $25,000 property damage liability insurance, you may still have a financial burden if you caused $50,000 in damages. Medical expenses and legal fees can be sky-high, too, so you must carefully consider coverage amounts when you enroll in a car insurance policy.

Get Your Coverage Today

When you work with Secure Insurance Group, you are getting the help of dedicated professionals who will ensure you get your insurance needs met. To learn more about how to get the proper amount of car insurance in Missouri, call us today at 1-877-871-7328.